Mumbai oh Mumbai


So, I’ve been in Mumbai for the past week or so and I love it J

This is the first city where I walked outside of the airport and decided I liked the place, rather special since I’m really not that into cities (I prefer trees and mountains). Anyways…the first few days at Mumbai we stayed with a friend from high school that I hadn’t seen for…five…years….

Half a decade later, we get together and it’s like no time has passed but we have so much to catch up on. I love my friends that I talk to everyday, but there is something so special and spectacular about friendships that don’t require weekly updates and where time is an irrelevant factor. For the most part Mumbai has been just plain fun. I’ve met two old friends from high school and we’re still all chummy and poking fun at each other and I LOVE it.

As far as work goes, I think Buttmunch and I are both ready to have the project wind down. We’ve thoroughly enjoyed ourselves but asking the same questions and dealing with mass confusion (read: no one here is 100% sure what the system is which doesn’t help us) is getting old, especially since they’re still rather interested in giving us an answer regardless of whether it’s related to our question or not. They also give us false information.  We don’t appreciate that.

Anyways, I don’t have too many funny stories for you, but here are a few to keep my blog somewhat interesting:

Unibrow-man

We had meeting where we met this guy who had a …”unibrow”…I  put unibrow in quotations because truth be told, it was more of a third eyebrow. I don’t know how else to put it, it was a mini eyebrow in between his eyebrows…and…oh yeah…the hair there were about an inch long. No joke. I had a hard time looking him in the eye as my gaze would automatically drift to where a patch of skin should be but was quite generously covered.

Grooming in a Park

One day I forced my friend Juju to play tour guide, he wasn’t sure what to show me and after asking me if I could walk (um…yes…) and then asking me how much I could walk (err…a lot…) he took me to the Hanging Garden (do I look that much out of shape?). It was a quaint little place with young love-struck couples scattered all over and where I wanted to bring a book to settle down for a good read.

Some point in the walk I decided I was sweating too much (walking is exercise) so we planted ourselves on this bench. On a bench diagonal to us sat an old man who wore his pants high enough to function as pants as well as a corset. I didn’t pay too much attention to the old man as he seemed to be sitting there clipping his nails. Hmmm. Okay, clipping your nails is no big deal….in a park – that’s a bit odd. Upon further inspection, Juju pointed out that he wasn’t clipping his nails but that he was using the nail cutter to trim the hair from his fingers. Best part? From where we were sitting, we could hear the loud and unmistakable squeek of his nail clipper as he intently went about grooming. We had to leave soon after because Juju (being the little school girl that he is) was unable to contain his laughter.

The Enthusiastic Bartender

While I was off being a tourist with Juju, Buttmunch went with her cousin to get this fabulous hair cut (to see how beautiful she is go to www.globalbumblebuzz.wordpress.com for before and after pictures) and we decided to meet up for dinner. The venue was picked and the two girls looked sooooo pretty with makeup and dresses while I rocked my best pair of jeans (that I’d been in all day) and tried not to look too sweaty. The place was crowded and we had a 45min-1hr wait so we situated ourselves by the bar until we found a table (mmmm AC!!). There, we met the acquaintance of the Happy Bartender. Never in my life have I seem someone so enthusiastic about mixing drinks as this fellow. While we chatted and made conversation I couldn’t ignore the vigorous shaking going on behind the bar. The Bartender was on the shorter side of life, but what he lacked in height he made up in smiles and the music he created with his shaker.  Even after we found a table I could still see (and hear) the Happy Bartender going at it. He took that shaker and shook it above his head as if to declare “look at me world!….I MAKE DRINKS!!!”. Yes Mr. Bartender…you do.

Oh. According to Buttmunch, our Happy Bartender also FLIPPED BOTTLES!!! I didn’t see any of this happen, but according to her (and I believe her), the Happy Bartender would flip and catch bottles and skim the area to see if anyone noticed. I can totally picture the really pleased look on his face he must have had.

Other than that, I don’t have too many hilarious stories….so..I’ll make up for it with…PICTURES:

I’ve been taking lots of pictures, here are a few to show you Mumbai. It’s hard to capture Mumbai in photos, there is just so much to this city and such a range of things to see and photograph!

I spent a day just walking around aimlessly (which I’m sure my Mother won’t be thrilled with…but I was smart, I promise!) and I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Mumbai doesn’t seem like it would, but it is home to some of the most beautiful buildings and architecture I’ve ever seen.

I love how these structures are hidden all over the city, you could walk by masterpieces everyday and not even notice. (I try to notice).

More to come when I find more to say 🙂

1 comment
  1. mmmm sounds like a great city to end up on your travels in =]

Leave a Reply

