love and happiness


I realized that it’s been forever since I wrote a post that was nothing but happy. Which is sad considering how truly wonderful my life is right now. I tend to write only about things that make me reflective, but the truth is, I spend a lot of my time with a smile plastered on my face.

Allow me to tell you why. I am sneezing as I write this, a tad bit sick but still blissed out because sneezing is kind of fun. Hahah, anyways… onto the real reasons why I feel like I have enough happiness to spread to the world:

For years I’ve been hearing people tell me that college or high school or childhood were the best years of their lives, I’d listen but was never able to nod in agreement. I am slowly unveiling the idea that the best years of my life are happening right now, this is it.

I am in my early twenties and I work in an office with crazy hours that I wouldn’t ever want to change for a 9-5. My work environment is so much fun. The work I do may not change the world, but I continue to learn and grow and at this point in my life, that’s more than I could ask for. I love my job, it suits me so well so much that I’m worried I’ve destined myself to never find a career path that could works as well as this.  On top of that, most of my coworkers aren’t just people I work with, they’re my friends and having relationships that transcend our semi-cubicles is a beautiful thing.

Each person I can call my “friend” is a star from the sky that lights up my life. The people who claim me as a loved one are intelligent and funny, as well as strong and I am in awe of each one of them. Though most of my bests are many seas and continents away, I am fortunate, at long last, to have found people in the homeland that make this place more home. Friends to hang out with on weekends, people to text in a combinations of our multi-lingual dialect, and individuals who teach me about my country and therefore, myself.

Several months ago I had written on how this was a concept I didn’t understand, but now I am learning to be a better daughter and a good sister. These days, calling to say whether I’ll be home for dinner or not, worrying my sister when I’m out late, buying my mom flowers when I get paid, editing things for my dad when I have time – after living away from my family since I was 10, I’m learning to take part in and enjoy the little things that makes us family.

I have encountered individuals who can make me smile with one word (“ani”) and who believe in me as much as I believe in them. Whose laughter is infectious and whose eyes and smile inspire me to be better, to be more me. I am motivated, not because it is born of me inside me, but because I have people who have put in on their agenda to push me to accomplish things I previously had only thought about. Slowly, my dreams are taking the shape of reality.

I read a book once that said happiness is a trivial to be in pursuit of, that happiness cannot be the goal simply because it is a by-product of other things. I suppose it’s true. But while it’s here, in abundance, I want to remind myself every day of what this is like, because when it fades and at times when it’s lost, I want to know I didn’t take this moment for granted.

 

I love with such intensity that is only met by the love I receive. I am happy.

3 comments
  1. awww what a beautiful post.

    and I LOVE SNEEZING TOO!! so much fun!

  2. isherpa said:

    “I am motivated, not because it is born of me inside me, but because I have people who have put in on their agenda to push me to accomplish things I previously had only thought about. Slowly, my dreams are taking the shape of reality”

    I like how you put this thought to words. in its simplicity, it is grand.

  3. anuz said:

    super…u made me happy thx

Leave a Reply

