My honest post on love


“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”
1 Corinthians 13:4-7

Lately, love as been on my mind. Not just because I’m dating possibly the most wonderful man in the world, but because this very same wonderful man had been majorly reworking my thoughts on the four lettered word I try so hard to avoid.

I’ve always considered myself a non-romantic girl (chick flicks makes me wish Godzilla was real and would come wreck the world where such terrible movies hail from), and the idea of  “romance” being long walks on the beach combined with a dozen red roses is cliche to the point where boys trying those wooing tactics have only managed to anger (and repulse) me.

Of course, love is so broad and covers a compass’s radius of relationships, emotions, and even religion, but the prime love most tend to be drawn to is the “romantic” type known as “Eros”. I dreaded/dread talking about ‘love’ for all the misconceptions, the illusions and the false hopes people have for a word that is so large and that contains so much. Perhaps for these reasons, (or possible because of something else?) I’ve been unable to write about it in a way that I feel is  accurate, honest and not sappy to the point of sickening myself.

But in the past months as I’ve made mistakes, as I’ve grown, as my wonderful Man has nurtured a new exposure to love I spent a lot of time trying to identify the words for what I was experiencing. I looked through poetry, through prose, through famous texts, and I even tried finding new perspectives in conversations hoping to find more understanding.

But it was a few days ago while I was replaying an a recent incident involving my dear Man and I in my head that this phrase popped into my head, “Love is patient”. And for the first time, I felt like I actually got it and it made me smile.I believe it was yesterday, after another brief stint where my Man wasn’t feeling well, I thought to myself, “Love is kind.” And again, that feeling of finally understanding took over me.

I’ve heard that Bible verse countless times, I’ve seen it scribbled on plaques, I’ve seen it hanging in homes and I’ve even seen it inscribed inside of wedding bands, but until those specific moments the gravity of it had somehow passed me. I then took it upon myself to find the rest of the Bible verse. Looking through and exploring each word or phrase, I nodded my head, agreeing, with the rest of the world as to why this definition is all encompassing of a love that people live, kill, and die for.

Patient. Kind. Does not envy. Does not boast. Not proud. Not rude. Not self-seeking. Not easily angered. Keeps no records of wrong. Does not delight in evil. Rejoices with the truth. Protects. Trusts. Hopes. Perseveres. Never fails.

For each point listed, I can think of an example of how this incredible man has stood by me, has shown me love and has just simply loved me.

For all the times I coldly told him, “Love isn’t enough”, I now read and re-read….”Love never fails”.
And I finally believe.


9 comments
  1. I LOVE your new blog look 🙂

    About the post.. all I can say is AWWWWWWW…..

    God Bless you both! Hope you two grow more in each others love and in turn nurture the love itself.. ( I sound like an old woman) I don’t want to embarrass myself more..
    tee hee..

    • Hey thanks! I quite like the new look myself! And thank you for you kind words.. also.. feel free to sound like an old woman, lately my friend has been telling me I’m waaaay past my prime too! :/

  2. icanwritesomething said:

    Wonderful post!!. 😀

  3. Sara said:

    LOVE this!!!

    (and the new look is pretty groovy!)

  4. Utsav said:

    Oh man, all these references to your man as uh… your Man are making me feel like he’s the only man in the world. God diyam woman, you’re in love. TWHS! He = I!

Leave a Reply

