9 years old


“you look like a nine year old”
my boss says when she gets to work.
I smile, “it’s one of those bleh days”
she agrees.

i don’t usually wear my hair like this,
only when i’m lazy.
i only dress like this
when i’m too worn out to care.

“and look at this weather,” she adds.
i nod to the window with a grey and windy scene
but it’s not the weather on my mind
(in fact, i enjoy the cold tingle in my fingers and feet)

my brain unable to catch up
on this past week’s lack of sleep
I fight a yawn
and lose myself in a fantasy of snuggledundercovers warmth

counting words for a story that is still unfinished
i take a break to adjust in my swivel chair office seat
sucks i’m here on Saturday.
breathing a sigh, it’s back to work for me

Leave a Reply

